High-Endurance microSD Cards for Dash Cams: Buyer's Guide
Accessories

High-Endurance microSD Cards for Dash Cams: Buyer's Guide

A researched buyer's guide to high-endurance microSD cards for dash cams, built from the makers' own spec sheets. It explains why endurance hours from different brands are not directly comparable and which listing details to double-check.

Updated October 08, 2026
16 min read

Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, DashCamGearHQ earns from qualifying purchases.

A dash cam spends its whole life doing the one thing ordinary memory cards hate: recording, deleting and recording again, all day, inside a car that bakes in July and freezes in January. A high-endurance microSD card is built for that job. It is also the one part of the setup nobody photographs for the box art, and the one that decides whether the clip exists after an incident.

This is a researched buyer's guide, not a hands-on test. Every figure below comes from the card makers' own spec pages, data sheets and documentation, so endurance hours, speeds and warranties are manufacturer claims and are labelled that way. Prices are left out on purpose: they move daily, and a spec page does not.

Eleven cards are covered, from Samsung and SanDisk to VIOFO and BlackVue. Before the card-by-card notes there is a short section on reading labels, because the biggest trap in this category is not a bad card. It is two brands printing "hours" on different bases and a shopping listing quietly contradicting the maker. If you plan to use parking mode, the continuous-write workload makes these details matter even more. New to the whole category? Start with what a dash cam is.

How to Read a High-Endurance Label

Endurance hours are a paper calculation

Makers convert a card's write endurance into "hours of Full HD recording" at a stated bit rate. It is a calculation, not a stopwatch, and every brand says "up to". The bit rate behind the number changes from brand to brand:

Brand Bit rate behind the hours
Samsung 26 Mbps
PNY 26 Mbps
Transcend 26 Mbps (on its DrivePro series)
Lexar 25 Mbps
Kingston 13 Mbps
SanDisk "Full HD", bit rate not stated on the product pages
Delkin Not stated

Kingston is the clearest example of why this matters. Its High Endurance line lists 26,900 operating hours, but that is one figure for the whole line, tied to a three-year warranty of round-the-clock recording, and it is based on 13 Mbps video. Putting it next to Samsung's 26 Mbps numbers compares a litre to a quart. Every maker also says the hours shrink at 4K, so treat the figures as a way to rank cards within a line, not as a lifespan promise.

Capacity class: SDHC or SDXC

The SD standard defines SDHC as cards above 2GB up to 32GB using FAT32, and SDXC as cards above 32GB up to 2TB using exFAT. In practice a 32GB card is SDHC and anything from 64GB up is SDXC, so your camera must support SDXC before you buy 64GB or more. Also check the largest card your camera accepts. Transcend tells buyers to check this explicitly, and VIOFO's FAQ lists 512GB as the maximum for the model it describes. If you are still choosing a camera, the 4K dash cam roundup is a good place to compare supported capacities.

Speed class: U1, U3 and V30

The speed symbols on a card carry a number that marks a minimum writing speed. Class 10 means 10 MB/s, U1 means 10 MB/s, U3 means 30 MB/s, and V30 means 30 MB/s sustained. For perspective, Samsung's own footnote describes a Full HD stream as 26 Mbps, which is 3.25 MB/s. A U1 card has headroom for that. High-bitrate 4K is where the camera's manual matters: it states what sustained write speed the camera needs, so compare that to the U or V number printed on the card.

Temperature

The common rating across Samsung, SanDisk, Transcend, Kingston High Endurance, Lexar, VIOFO and PNY is -25 to 85 C in operation. Kingston's Industrial line goes down to -40 C. A windshield in summer is not a gentle place for NAND, so this spec is worth a glance.

The Cards at a Glance

All figures are manufacturer claims. "Write" is the maximum write speed the maker lists.

Card Capacities Speed class Write Warranty
Samsung PRO Endurance 32 to 256GB U1/V10 (32, 64GB); U3/V30 (128, 256GB) 30 MB/s (32, 64GB); 40 MB/s (128, 256GB) 2 / 3 / 5 / 5 years by capacity
SanDisk MAX Endurance 32 to 256GB U3/V30 up to 40 MB/s 3 / 5 / 10 / 15 years by capacity
SanDisk High Endurance 32 to 512GB U3/V30 up to 40 MB/s 2 years
Transcend 350V 32GB to 1TB U1 (32, 64GB); U3/V30 (128GB and up) 40 to 85 MB/s by capacity 2 years
Delkin DASHCARD 32 to 128GB U3/V30 85 MB/s Lifetime, per Delkin's consumer page
Kingston High Endurance 32 to 256GB U1, A1 30 MB/s (32, 64GB); 45 MB/s (128, 256GB) 3 years
Lexar High-Endurance 32 to 128GB U3/V30 from 64GB up 30 / 35 / 45 MB/s 2 years
VIOFO Industrial Grade 64 to 512GB U3/A2/V30 up to 90 MB/s 1 year
PNY PRO Elite High Endurance 64 to 512GB U3/V30/A2 up to 90 MB/s 2 years
Kingston Industrial (SDCIT2) 8 to 128GB U3/V30/A1 80 MB/s 3 years
BlackVue microSD Card 64GB to 1TB U3 up to 90 MB/s Not published

Card by Card

Samsung PRO Endurance

Samsung announced this generation on 3 May 2022 in 32, 64, 128 and 256GB. The listed hours run from 17,520 at 32GB to 140,160 at 256GB, which on paper is 16 years of non-stop Full HD recording. Samsung's own page lists dash cams among its intended uses. The card is listed for 15,000 gauss of magnetic exposure, a 72-hour dip in one metre of seawater and a five-metre drop, which is a better résumé than most things in your glovebox.

Two details are easy to miss. First, only the 128GB and 256GB cards are U3/V30 with a 40 MB/s write speed; the 32GB and 64GB cards are U1/V10 at 30 MB/s. Second, the warranty steps up with capacity: 2 years at 32GB, 3 at 64GB and 5 at 128GB and 256GB, with 1 year on the SD adapter.

Stock is the thing to watch. When this guide was researched, Samsung's own US store showed the 32, 64 and 128GB cards as out of stock and the 256GB card in stock. That is a store stock note, not a discontinuation, and Samsung's pages still list this generation with no successor found. One more flag: the Amazon listing below carries a title that says U1/V10, which contradicts Samsung's own specification of U3/V30 for the 256GB card. Go by Samsung's sheet.

Check the Samsung PRO Endurance 256GB on Amazon

SanDisk MAX Endurance

MAX Endurance is the stronger of SanDisk's two endurance lines on paper. Listed hours are 15,000, 30,000, 60,000 and 120,000 for 32, 64, 128 and 256GB, and SanDisk calls the top card "over 13 years". Every capacity is listed as Class 10, U3 and V30, with reads up to 100 MB/s and writes up to 40 MB/s. The warranty runs 3, 5, 10 and 15 years by capacity, and the data sheet notes that registration is required. SanDisk's page lists only four capacities, so there is no 512GB MAX Endurance.

The SD adapter is included, but the recovery software is a two-year offer for RescuePRO Deluxe that needs a download, not a bundled licence.

This is also the card VIOFO names in its FAQ. VIOFO says VIOFO-branded cards or SanDisk Max Endurance are recommended, that other brands can work, and that it means Max Endurance, not High Endurance. If you own a VIOFO, the VIOFO guide is worth a read alongside this one. Availability is not confirmed: some retailer listings showed backorder dates in September and October 2026.

Check the SanDisk MAX Endurance 128GB on Amazon

SanDisk High Endurance

Same family name, very different numbers. The listed hours are 2,500, 5,000, 10,000, 20,000 and 40,000 hours for 32, 64, 128, 256 and 512GB. At 128GB that is 10,000 hours against MAX Endurance's 60,000, so High Endurance carries one-sixth of the hours, not the one-third you sometimes see quoted. The speed specs match MAX (U3/V30, reads up to 100 MB/s, writes up to 40 MB/s), and the warranty is 2 years on every capacity per SanDisk's page. The Amazon listing says "lifetime manufacturer warranty", which conflicts with the maker, so trust the maker until a listing is corrected.

Its selling point is range: it is the only SanDisk endurance line that reaches 512GB. For modest bitrates and light parking-mode use, the hours on offer are a lot of paper headroom. For heavy continuous use, compare it against the lines above.

Check the SanDisk High Endurance 128GB on Amazon

Transcend High Endurance 350V

Transcend's current product page runs from 32GB all the way to 1TB, a size matched here only by BlackVue's listing. Listed hours double at each step: 7,500 at 32GB, 15,000 at 64GB, 30,000 at 128GB, 60,000 at 256GB, 120,000 at 512GB and 240,000 at 1TB, based on 26 Mbps video. Write speeds climb with capacity from 40 MB/s to 85 MB/s on the 1TB card. The 32GB and 64GB cards are Class 10 U1; 128GB and up are U3/V30. The warranty is two years, the NAND is 3D, and free RecoveRx recovery software is offered.

Older write-ups, including an earlier version of this page, credited the 350V with published TBW figures of up to 170 TB. Older Transcend data sheets did say that, but the current product page and the 2021 data sheet publish hours only. The Amazon listing also mentions a 5-year warranty, which conflicts with Transcend's own two-year statement. The 128GB listing below is shown as shipped from Amazon and sold by Transcend Information.

Check the Transcend 350V 128GB on Amazon

Delkin DASHCARD

Delkin sells a dash cam specific card in 32, 64 and 128GB, listed at 95 MB/s read, 85 MB/s write and Class 10, U3, V30. Delkin states "70,000+ hours of use" for the line, with no bit rate given and no per-capacity ladder. You may see a much bigger number, 275,000 hours, on a shopping listing; that figure appears in an Amazon listing title but not on Delkin's own pages, so it is not used here.

The warranty needs a second look. Delkin's own consumer page, store and the Amazon listing say lifetime, while an older retailer spec page showed 5 years. Delkin's wording is more likely current, but confirm on the listing you actually buy. Delkin also says the card captures 4K continuous-loop video without corruption or dropped frames, which is a maker claim, and one retailer spec page lists it as compatibility-tested with Nextbase, Garmin, Thinkware and BlackVue.

Check the Delkin DASHCARD 128GB on Amazon

Kingston High Endurance

Kingston's datasheet (dated July 2024) lists capacities of 32, 64, 128 and 256GB, UHS-I U1, Class 10 and A1. Reads are up to 95 MB/s, with writes up to 30 MB/s on 32 and 64GB and up to 45 MB/s on 128 and 256GB. The endurance claim is 3K P/E cycles plus the 26,900-hour figure explained above, on a 13 Mbps basis. The warranty is three years with free technical support, the card is listed as IPX7 (30 minutes in one metre of water) and a health-monitoring tool is available.

It is a U1 card, so check your camera's sustained-write needs before pairing it with a high-bitrate 4K model. Kingston's datasheet also states that its flash cards are designed and tested for consumer-grade products and that special or OEM uses should contact Kingston, which is worth reading if you plan anything beyond a typical consumer setup. The Amazon listing shows a 2-year warranty, against 3 years on the datasheet.

Check the Kingston High Endurance 128GB on Amazon

Lexar High-Endurance

Lexar's global product page lists 32, 64 and 128GB only; no 256GB appears there. The claimed hours are 3,000, 6,000 and 12,000 for those three capacities, calculated at 25 Mbps. Write speeds are 30, 35 and 45 MB/s, and Lexar notes that U3, V30 and 4K recording apply to 64GB and above only. The warranty is two years, and the card is listed as shockproof, vibration-proof and X-ray-proof, with the usual -25 to 85 C range.

The Amazon listing we could check for this card was a 64GB version that showed as unavailable, so the link below is a search.

Search for the Lexar High-Endurance microSD on Amazon

VIOFO Industrial Grade

VIOFO's own store lists the Industrial Grade card in 64, 128, 256 and 512GB: U3, A2, V30, reads up to 100 MB/s, writes up to 90 MB/s, with an SD adapter included. The warranty is one year, the shortest term listed in this guide. VIOFO publishes no endurance hours and no TBW, only qualitative "high endurance" wording, so this card cannot be compared on the number most buyers look for first.

What VIOFO does publish is guidance. Its FAQ recommends its own cards or SanDisk Max Endurance and says 128GB is a good minimum, and its product page blames cheap cards for most unexplainable recording issues. Per VIOFO, Samsung was found to be less reliable. That is VIOFO's statement about its own cameras and is not independently verified, but it is useful context if you own one.

Check the VIOFO Industrial Grade 256GB on Amazon

PNY PRO Elite High Endurance

PNY launched this line on 10 April 2025, in 64, 128, 256 and 512GB. Hours run 17,200, 34,400, 68,800 and 137,600 on a 26 Mbps basis, so they are directly comparable with Samsung's. The card is microSDXC, UHS-I, Class 10, U3, V30 and A2, with reads up to 100 MB/s and writes up to 90 MB/s. The warranty is two years limited, and PNY lists dash cams among compatible devices alongside surveillance cameras, body cameras and drones. Stock status is not confirmed.

PNY also sells an Elite Dash Camera card (U1/V10) with no published endurance hours and a lifetime limited warranty. It is not a high-endurance-rated product, so it is not ranked here.

Check the PNY PRO Elite High Endurance 256GB on Amazon

Kingston Industrial (SDCIT2)

This is the odd one out. Kingston's datasheet, dated February 2026, describes an industrial card that runs TLC in pSLC mode and lists up to 3,840 TBW and 30K P/E cycles. Capacities are 8, 16, 32, 64 and 128GB. Reads are up to 100 MB/s, writes up to 80 MB/s, and the card is U3, V30 and A1. It operates and stores at -40 to 85 C, has a three-year warranty, and adds health monitoring and power-failure protection. Kingston notes that the TBW figure derives from the endurance of the highest capacity.

It tops out at 128GB, so it will not suit someone who wants 512GB of 4K footage. Its endurance number is in TBW, not hours, so it does not slot into the hours table.

Search for the Kingston Industrial microSD SDCIT2 on Amazon

BlackVue microSD Card

BlackVue sells its own card for its dash cams. The spec block lists UHS Speed Class 3, reads up to 100 MB/s, writes up to 90 MB/s, and capacities of 64GB, 256GB, 512GB and 1TB. The page describes it as factory-tested to withstand heavy-duty loop recording, and it warns that full compatibility and optimal performance are not guaranteed on older BlackVue models. No endurance hours, TBW or warranty term are published on that page. If you own a BlackVue, the BlackVue guide covers the cameras themselves.

Search for the BlackVue microSD Card on Amazon

Endurance Hours by Capacity

Claimed hours of Full HD recording, with the basis noted. Kingston's single 13 Mbps figure and Delkin's single 70,000+ figure do not fit a per-capacity table and are explained in the card notes above.

Capacity Samsung SanDisk MAX SanDisk High Endurance PNY Transcend Lexar (25 Mbps)
32GB 17,520 15,000 2,500 n/a 7,500 3,000
64GB 35,040 30,000 5,000 17,200 15,000 6,000
128GB 70,080 60,000 10,000 34,400 30,000 12,000
256GB 140,160 120,000 20,000 68,800 60,000 n/a
512GB n/a n/a 40,000 137,600 120,000 n/a
1TB n/a n/a n/a n/a 240,000 n/a

At 128GB, Samsung's claim is the highest, PNY's is roughly half of it, and SanDisk High Endurance sits far below. Hours are one input; the warranty and speed class tell you the rest.

Which Card for Which Job

  • Longest warranty on paper: Delkin lists a lifetime warranty on the DASHCARD (confirm it on the listing). Among the rest, SanDisk MAX Endurance goes up to 15 years at 256GB (registration required), and Samsung PRO Endurance gives five years on 128GB and 256GB.
  • VIOFO owner: VIOFO says to use its own card or SanDisk Max Endurance, so start there. The VIOFO Industrial Grade card also reaches 512GB.
  • BlackVue owner: BlackVue's own card is the one the maker sells for its cameras, though it publishes no endurance or warranty figure.
  • Parking mode and high-bitrate recording: look for U3/V30, a higher-capacity card and a maker that publishes an endurance number. The parking mode picks and the loop recording explainer pair well with this section.
  • Largest capacity: Transcend 350V and the BlackVue card reach 1TB. VIOFO, PNY and SanDisk High Endurance reach 512GB.
  • An endurance number in TBW: Kingston Industrial (SDCIT2), up to 128GB.
  • Check twice: the 32GB and 64GB Samsung PRO Endurance cards are U1/V10, so confirm your camera is happy with that before choosing them.

Card choice is only half of a parking-mode setup. The other half is power, and the battery drain explainer covers it.

Before You Click Buy: Checking the Listing

A shopping listing is a summary written by someone else, and it can disagree with the card maker. The research behind this guide found several mismatches: a Samsung 256GB listing titled U1/V10, a SanDisk High Endurance listing quoting a lifetime warranty, a Transcend listing quoting five years, and a Kingston listing quoting two years. In each case the maker's own page says something different.

  • Check the capacity. Each link in this guide points to a single capacity, and the link text says which. If you need another size, open the listing and pick it, then re-check the specs against the maker's page.
  • Check the seller. The Delkin and Transcend listings above are shown as shipped from Amazon and sold by the brand itself. For other listings the seller could not be confirmed, so look at the "sold by" line yourself. We could not source a claim that any one channel is the main source of fake cards, so we are not repeating one.
  • Check the camera's own list. We could not verify published card lists from Garmin, Thinkware or Nextbase. Your manual is the better authority, and the Garmin guide is a handy starting point if you own one.

No manufacturer we found states how often a dash cam card should be replaced or reformatted, so any "replace every year" rule is folk wisdom, not a spec. If your camera reports card errors, treat that as the signal.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Is SanDisk High Endurance good enough for a dash cam?

On the spec sheet it is a U3/V30 card with 2,500 to 40,000 hours of claimed Full HD recording and a 2-year warranty. It carries one-sixth of MAX Endurance's hours at the same capacity, and VIOFO says to use Max Endurance, not High Endurance, in its cameras. If your maker has no card preference and you record in modest bitrates, it fits the job on paper; for heavy parking-mode use, look at Samsung PRO Endurance 128GB or 256GB, SanDisk MAX Endurance or PNY PRO Elite.

Q: Does a bigger card last longer?

Within one line, the claimed hours scale with capacity: Samsung, SanDisk, Transcend and PNY all roughly double with each step, as the table shows. Across brands it does not hold, because the bit rate behind the hours differs, and Kingston publishes one figure for its whole line. Pick the capacity your camera supports and your recording pattern needs, then compare cards of the same capacity.

Share:

Article Topics

#dash cam micro sd card#dash cam sd card#dash cam memory card#dash cam sd card size#dash cam 128gb#dash cam 64gb

You might also like